Born in July 2013, the ITRA (International Trail Running Association) aims to give a voice to parties involved in trail running in order to promote its strong values, its diversity, the safety of races and the health of runners, as well as to further the development of trail running and ensure a constructive dialogue between the national and international bodies with an interest in the sport.

ITRA is composed of members from various backgrounds, united by a passion for trail running within a non-profit association founded in July 2013.


The ITRA bodies

As a non-profit association, ITRA is composed of:
  • a Steering Committee, elected by the members of the General Assembly composed of ITRA members, which supervises the activities of the association. 
  • an Executive Board which manages the activities initiated by the ITRA operational team.
The ITRA Steering Committee is composed of:
3 permanent members
  • Jose Carlos Santos - POR
  • Alessandra NICOLETTI – ITA
8 organizing members
  • Alen Paliska - CRO
  • Bob Crowley - USA
  • Cristina Murgia - ITA
  • Enrico Pollini - ITA
  • Janet Ng - HKG
  • Krzysztof GajdziƄski (mandate 2017-2021) - POL
  • Mario Leal - POR
4 regular runner members
  • Monica Imana - PER
  • Nikos Zanas - GRE
  • Harri JANTUNEN - FIN
2 elite runner members
  • Sarah Keyes - USA
  • Emily SCHMITZ – USA

The Executive Board is composed of:

1 President
  • Bob Crowley - USA
4 Vice-presidents
  • Monica Imana - PER
  • Alen Paliska - CRO
  • Jose Carlos Santos - POR
  • One vacant seat
1 Treasurer
  • Janet Ng - HKG
1 General secretary
  • Enrico Pollini - ITA
The members of the Executive Board are drawn from the Management Committee and elected by it.


The ITRA operational team

ITRA's operational team is your privileged interlocutor. It implements ITRA's daily actions to promote the trail running and support its actors.


The ITRA members

ITRA members are individuals or entities who have joined ITRA by paying an annual membership fee. Organizing Members and Running Members elect their National Representatives every 4 years.

Permanent members :

All trail running participants, they were present at the creation of ITRA, and are each signatories of the ITRA constitution:   
  • Didier Curdy
  • Jean-Marc Garcia
  • Arnaud de Stael
  • Carlos Garcia Prieto
  • Bernard Landrein
  • Nicolas Mermoud
  • José Carlos Santos
  • Alessandra Nicoletti
  • Fabrice Perrin
  • Jean-Charles Perrin
  • Catherine Poletti
  • Michel Poletti
  • Pierre Sallet
  • Hervé Simon.

Organizing members 

Representatives of organizations, non-profit otherwise that regularly organize a trail running competitions.

Running Members

A person, whether licensed with a national sports federation or not, who has participated in a trail running event at least once in the 24 months preceding his or her membership in ITRA.

Honorary members

Honorary Membership is granted by the Executive Board to any person who has rendered significant services to ITRA. These members are exempt from paying a membership fee and have no voting rights at the ITRA General Assembly.

Copyright @ 2002-2021 ITRA, All Rights Reserved